Hot Dogs, Hamburgers, and Moon Pies

20150628_130437

Sunday our church had their annual patriotic concert to celebrate America. The program was a musical travelogue of American history presented by the 275 members of the choir and orchestra and included modern dance, clogging and recognition of all the men and women of the U.S. Armed Forces. One of the men honored was a 96 year old who landed on the beaches of Normandy in 1944. To see all of the veterans on stage that fought for our freedom, including my husband who served in Vietnam, was a moving, emotional experience.

After the service there was a huge outdoor festival with 15+ food trucks serving burgers, hot dogs, BBQ, tamales, Cuban dishes, healthy dishes and desserts. I’m normally a healthy eater (or try to be), but there was no way I was going to pass up the opportunity to eat food that took me back to my childhood and the Texas State Fair. There was also cotton candy, kettle corn, snow cones, and old-fashion custard. It was one big happy place for your tummy.

There was a vendor selling moon pies – those delicious, gooey marshmallow, graham cracker and chocolate treats. I grew up eating them while drinking an RC Cola. Before I retired I sent a box to my employer in London, England so they could sample a little piece of the South. They loved them so much they served them with their afternoon tea. Besides chocolate and vanilla, they now have banana, strawberry and salted caramel. Yum! If you’ve never heard of them visit their site, http://www.moonpie.com. You are missing out on a part of history.

Is your mouth watering yet?

This entry was posted in Hope & Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hot Dogs, Hamburgers, and Moon Pies

  1. Susan Young says:

    Yes, you made my mouth water! So glad you and your family had fun. My thanks to all veterans who have served, including Ronny, and those still serving. God bless the United States of America.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My Dad loved moon pies!!! this post made me think of him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

