Grandma’s House

Aunt Frankie, Grandma Grayson, Mother

Aunt Frankie, Grandma Grayson, Mother

This is one of my favorite pictures of my Grandma with her two daughters. It was taken in 1954 at my Grandma’s house on Seevers Avenue in Dallas, Texas. The house was built in the 30’s or 40’s and had a floor furnace. When you stood on it the heat would rise up from the bottom and surround you like a warm blanket. Speaking of blankets, when you stayed overnight at Grandma’s you were literally smothered with piles of quilts. Once you were tucked in, movement was not an option!

Grandma’s house was a little piece of heaven filled with her love of God and her family. I miss it.

This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grandma’s House

  1. LOVE the picture!! Grandma kept me the year before I started school, have so many good memories spending time with her and playing “concentration” I loved her house on Seevers. I miss her and the good ole days!

    Like

  2. cdc71 says:

    Your post brought back wonderful memories of being at my grandmother’s house. When staying with her, I would be surrounded by quilts at night! I slept on a multi-quilt pallet with quilts on top of me. 🙂 Precious memories, indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

