First Mode of Transportation

Scan 55Do you remember when you got your first bike? Was it just the right color? Did it have a basket attached to carry all your goodies when you went to hang out with friends? Did it have fancy ribbons hanging from the handle bars?

I was six years old when Santa left my first bike under the Christmas tree. It was big and perfect! It was a Western Flyer with white wall tires and it even had a battery operated headlight. I’m not sure why I needed that because I had to be home before dark but it looked cool. Many miles were covered on this bike, having fun and making memories with friends.

This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Holidays, Remember When. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to First Mode of Transportation

  1. Susan Young says:

    I got my green bike at age 10…when I was much more responsible that age 6, Darlene!!! Har, har! We rode everywhere. Mine had a horn!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a great picture and a HUGE bike for you! LOL! I clearly remember the moment my dad taught me how to ride a bike and I was able to stay upright with no training wheels. It was exhilarating!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Gladys Moore says:

    Love the bike, Darlene. I got a similar one only yours is more “fancy”. Went over the handle bars only once!

    Like

  4. I can’t recall going over the handle bars but definitely fell off a number of times. I remember learning to stop was a real challenge!

    Like

Leave a Reply

