Ferocious Frankie

DSCN0297DSCN0206DSCN0229DSCN0188 (1)DSCN0461

In 2012 we took three of our grandsons for a weekend outing to Robbins Air Force Base. Ronny was like a kid in a candy store pointing out which planes were flown out of his base in Vietnam. The museum had a great display of planes, helicopters, jeeps and other equipment currently used by the Air Force. It also included a flight simulator. All the guys took the bait and rode it. Me, I thought better since most rides make me a wee bit dizzy. Like sick all day dizzy.

I especially liked the P-51 Mustang with Ferocious Frankie painted on the side. I could picture myself in the cockpit, the only woman pilot ready to lead the ‘guys’ on the next mission. This from the Frankie that gets air sick, car sick, amusement ride sick. Hey if you’re going to dream, dream big.

This entry was posted in Family, Military, Remember When, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ferocious Frankie

  1. Susan Young says:

    Hey, Ferocious Frankie…great pictures! I guess I never realized you get car sick!!!

    Like

    • If Im going to be in the car for more than a couple of hours, I pop a pill. I spent a few hours in Universal Studio’s infirmary after attempting to watch an I-MAX show before I even knew I had vertigo. Ronny and the kids had a great afternoon. Me, not so much.

      Like

  2. cdc71 says:

    What a great history lesson for these kids! They’ll remember that day for a long time — and so will Ronny! 🙂

    Like

  3. It was a great trip. One of the best parts was the ride up and back. Kids are so funny. Once they get the ‘giggles’ (even boys), they can’t stop laughing. Love it!

    Like

  4. Linda R. Dunwoody says:

    I love how you and Ronny make memories with the grandchildren. Kudos!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

