Hot Pink Gauze

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It started out as a beautiful day. The sun was shining and we were off to Chattanooga, TN with our two youngest grandchildren. Lookout Mountain, Rock City and Ruby Falls were calling us. The Incline Railroad was our first stop. At the top of the mountain we decided to walk a few blocks to see the battlefield park. That’s when the day started its downhill decline.

A pothole on the walking trail surprised me, and the next thing I knew I was on the ground. Ankle twisted and painful. It was a bit of a hike back to the car, but I made it. After a stop at Walgreens for gauze to wrap my ankle and pain reliever, we were off to Rock City.

Although with each step the pain got worse, I was determined to see Rock City and the Falls. Boy was I wrong! About two steps down into Rock City, I knew I was done. As luck would have it, a paramedic that was walking behind us took me back up to the top and helped me find a place to elevate my foot. No more than 10 minutes later, the heavens opened up and dropped buckets of rain. Ronny and the kids were drenched and spent the next 45 minutes under a pavilion before they could finish exploring the sights.

It continued to rain, but we couldn’t head back home until the kids saw Ruby Falls. Again, I thought I could manage walking the one-mile round trip down into the Falls. Again, I was wrong. Those close to me know I’m not a patient person. I have to admit that spending most of my day sitting with my foot elevated, knowing that everyone else was laughing and having fun was not easy. But knowing that Sarah and Garrett were making memories with their Papa Mac was worth it. And for me, it’s not every day that I get to make a fashion statement wearing hot pink gauze.

This entry was posted in Adventure, Family, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hot Pink Gauze

  1. Linda Dunwoody says:

    What else can you do – you gotta laugh. You really need to post a picture of that hot pink gauze bandaged ankle. Seriously I hope you’ll be alright. Take care.

    Linda

    Like

  2. Susan Young says:

    Take care, Ms. Fashionista!

    Like

  3. Ankle is getting better everyday. Thanks for the well wishes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

